My plans for Red River Gorge got rained out and I wasn’t about to drive two hours away for slick rocky cliffs. Although I was disappointed about the gorge, I haven’t been in quite some time, I did get some great shots in a couple of local parks.
_dsc0015The first stop was Beckley Creek Park; part of_dsc0016 Floyd’s Fork and the Louisville Parklands. It started raining as soon as we got there and the temperature dropped a bit too. I took a few pictures but I didn’t stray too far from the car. My pack was getting wet and there wasn’t much _dsc0021to look at in the small area I was in. I was pretty much ready_dsc0026 to head home. My boyfriend and I jumped into his car and he made the suggestion to check out one more park just down the street. We headed to Long Run Park, also part of the same Parklands system.

I’m so glad he made that suggestion _dsc0079too, because I came across this little guy. We were driving around the park when I spotted a small creature headed around a tree. I jumped out of the car and made my way around the tree in the opposite direction. I thought I was going to cut him off and get a shot of him headed toward me, but as I made my way around the tree he disappeared. For a minute I thought I was going crazy and seeing strange shadows. Then I noticed this little notch in the base of the tree and there he was tucked up inside. He was hiding from the rain too.

Even though the rain postponed my original plans I still found some great opportunities elsewhere also as a result of the rain. I’ll get out to Red River soon enough. Don’t forget to check out my home page for more cuddly wildlife shots and other pictures from Saturday.

