_dsc0115My boyfriend, my dog, and I set out to find an awe inspiring area to take my picture this past Saturday in Morgan Conservation Park (Oldham County, KY). I may not have gotten the panoramic photo I was hoping for, but I did find some interesting things hidden by branches and brambles.

I suppose I should have assumed there would be something to stumble across in this 120+ _dsc0057-2acre park but it’s always a fun surprise. First thing we happened upon were these gravestones of people long forgotten. It’s a shame when you really think about it. These people have been up here for quite some time, there are no churches or residencies near by, and no one to claim them as their kin. I do wonder who these people were. Did they own the property that is now a public park? Did they live on the land? Was there a church here at some point? How long has a home or church been gone?  You can’t really make out any names; the stone has been weathered so much, but the year 1894 was etched into one of the stones not pictured here.

_dsc0072-2

This wasn’t too far from the small graveyard. It wasn’t a church or a residence, nor was it even old enough to belong to those stones. Based on the tall ladder we saw collapsed on the ground and what looked like a gun rack, we assumed this to be hunting stand. It probably fell during a storm at some point and those who built it decided to leave it. And for the better too, since there is no hunting permitted on park grounds.

So as to the lesson I learned on this excursion. If you’ll notice, all of my photos seem to be a little tinted, blue to be exact. Well, it should have been evident to me since I’ve read about it several times, but I needed to change my white balance. Saturday was a very cloudy day and I’ve had my camera in manual for quite some time now to make myself learn all the details of the settings. And Saturday was a prime example.

Because I’ve had my camera in manual mode the white balance, “a function on the camera to compensate for the different colors of light being emitted by different light sources” (Nikon’s Photography Glossary) was set on default, Incandescent. In an Automatic Program a sensor detects the amount of light and the type of light on your subject and compensates for that without you having to do anything but press the shutter button. My manual mode leaves all that up to me. My camera couldn’t detect the dim setting I was in. Now, however, I know to change the white balance based on the setting I am in.to fix this issue, on my Nikon D3000 I press the Menu button to the left of the screen, go to Shooting Menu, click on White Balance, and adjust it accordingly.

Be sure to go to my homepage to check out all the photos I have posted from my day in Morgan Conservation Park. I’ll be heading to Red River Gorge this weekend for a day and I should be coming back with many wonderful photos including a fantastic panoramic shot.

